Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

922 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 30, 2012 7:55 AM by runFREE107 RSS
runFREE107 Rookie 4 posts since
Jul 26, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 26, 2012 8:38 AM

Training for my 1st Half in Oct!

Hello all!

I am new to Active.  I signed up for a half marathon in October.  I am about 3-4 weeks into my training.  My longest run so far has been 6.2 miles in 1:10.  My first few weeks only consisted of a few days of running and the rest of the days doing spinning, boot camp, and muscle conditioning classes with Pilates thrown in there once in a while.  I have been doing those classes religiously since January.  I love to run and have always ran recreationally for the past 15 years or so.  I am aiming for 7 miles on sunday and am nervous, that will be the farthest I've run ever.  I've done 10k race before.  Tonight my husband and I were going to try and new route for about 4 miles but it looks like it will thunderstorm so we are heading to the gym to treadmill it out.    Can anyone give me some advice on treadmill workouts for training? 

• nowirun4fun Legend 208 posts since
    Oct 22, 2010
    1. Jul 26, 2012 8:45 AM (in response to runFREE107)

What better way to prepare for your 1/2 than to get out there and face the elements?  For example, what would you do should your race of choice come with a torrential downpour half way through?  Mother nature is a very fickle taskmaster for those who allow her to be.

• BOSNPM We're Not Worthy 2,481 posts since
    Nov 20, 2007
    3. Jul 26, 2012 10:58 AM (in response to runFREE107)