Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

476 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Aug 16, 2012 5:00 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
Shanechef Rookie 1 posts since
Jun 1, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 16, 2012 3:28 PM

I popped my knee out last week

Ok, so i am a beginner runner, i have just finished my first 1/2 marathon back in july and finished it in 2hrs 16min. i felt fine, enjoyed the run immensly and i am looking forward to running the staten island 1/2 in october and the Philly full in nov.

So i have an existing knee problem which i have not had operated on, it is not a problem once i do not pop it out. so before you tell me seek medical attention that is not going to happen. I'm 36 in good health and im not repeat not going to seek medical help, its a knee problem i've dealt with all my life.

So i popped my knee out 2 weeks ago while walking dow stairs, i have stayed off it for the past two weeks Ice pack and plenty rest solved the first stage of the injury. Now i know i cannot run on my knee so i've started to cycle in the gym instead, to mim the pressure on my knee, i do not feel any pressure doing this so i think i will continue.

My question is, What type of training should i be doing while my knee is off limits to insure i can run in the november marathon? again i was up to 13 mil long run once a week and i felt fine afterwards, and 3x 5mile runs midweek

any tips will be freatly appreciated thanks

Shane

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,127 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Aug 16, 2012 5:00 PM (in response to Shanechef)