Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2040 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 21, 2012 6:26 PM by chell730
chell730 Expert 40 posts since
Aug 11, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 16, 2012 7:09 AM

newbie to half marathon

Hey everyone! I am a newbie runner. I'm about 8 months in and have logged about 500 miles.  I have taken on the challenge of half marathon in April of next year.  I've got about 8 months to train and will be using HH's novice 1, novice 2, and intermediate plans to get there. 

Any advice would be appreciated!!!

Thanks!

Chell

"Your story is your power, not your shame." ~Ryan Blair~

Started 12/19/2011- Nike program

Nike+ chell622

Soles for Education 5k- 36:29

Armed Forces 5k- 36:14

Christie Clinic Illinois half Marathon 4/27/2013

• BigSlade Amateur 36 posts since
    May 4, 2012
    1. Aug 16, 2012 8:36 AM (in response to chell730)
    newbie to half marathon

My advice to you for your first one, just concentrate on finishing.  Make that your goal, then worry about achieving a specific time on your next one.  Other than that, listen to your body and don't push yourself if your body is telling you to slow down or take a break.  8 months is a lot of time, should be plenty of time to get yourself ready for the race. Best of luck to you!

• BOSNPM We're Not Worthy 2,482 posts since
    Nov 20, 2007
    2. Aug 21, 2012 9:12 AM (in response to BigSlade)
    newbie to half marathon

Chell,