Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1067 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 25, 2012 4:32 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
hayes55987 Amateur 9 posts since
Feb 28, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 22, 2012 8:05 PM

Finishing up Hamstring Pull Recovery?

I have been running for about 2 years now total and am stil trying to recover from a hamstring tear (I believe).

How it happened: Overtrained for a half marathon and on a long descending run, I felt kind of a pulling in the back of my leg behind my knee and slowed down. I kept running the rest of my long run and by the end it was a little tingly and could not put pressure on it. Very tight feeling. Went back to apartment, iced a little bit, but didn't think much of it.

As with all inexperienced runners, I kept trying to run on it and made a mess of things

Eventually I could not run on it any further and tried to get it diagnosed. The pain seemed to change/morph. I started out thinking it was runners knee with the patella and eventually the pain started shifting to the back of the knee and along the medial side. I went to two PT's and both diagnosed me as having ITB which I kept explaining to them was not the problem.