Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2052 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 30, 2012 11:49 AM by BOSNPM RSS
melwitte@rochester.rr.com Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 25, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 30, 2012 9:27 AM

Calf strain week before taper.

I strained my calf doing a track workout this past Monday.  This is my last big training week before taper for Montreal Marathon on 9/23.  I took Tues and Wed off.  Ran 5 this morning and calf is irritated again.  Wanting advice from fellow runners. This is my 12th marathon and I am a coach (a little embarassing as I probably already know the answer here but my "coach brain" is fighting with my "runner's brain")

Should I pass on the last big long run and settle in to my taper giving my calf time to heal?  Or should I try to get a long run in next week?  I have already run 6 - 20+ runs for this training.

Talk to me fellow runners.

• skypilot77 Legend 1,077 posts since
    Dec 16, 2009

I'm running my 12th marathon in Oct.

My suggestion -- with 6x20+ mile runs in -- you're done with your long runs.

Get the leg healthy. Plan to even take the next week off. You'll have more than enough time to get your breath back after taking a week off.

Another long run is not going to help you for this marathon. Health is the key.

• Rich in NH Legend 850 posts since
    Dec 10, 2007
    Re: Calf strain week before taper.