Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

913 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 31, 2012 9:19 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
Sejeroo Rookie 1 posts since
Aug 30, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 30, 2012 10:55 AM

Running on the trail and safety

Hi- I am a total Newbie-

I was running on the street, but stopped when someone is car threw stuff and hit me with it (there was no way it was unintentional).

So, I started running on trail near my house- its a straight trail, so I run up, turn around, and run back to where I started. At first, I didm't really think about my safety, as I wasn't running very far- but now, my runs are around an hour- and recently, a woman in town "disappeared", so it has kind of started weighing on me.

I try to be aware of what is going on around me, and my mother-in-law suggested I carry pepper spray. I don't have any, but that does seem like a good idea.

Does anyone have any tips about not just how to be safe on the trail, but also how to feel safe? I think I am psyching myself out a little, and I dont want to stop running because I'm too scared.

Thanks!

• Longtallsallee Amateur 9 posts since
    Aug 25, 2012
    1. Aug 30, 2012 12:00 PM (in response to Sejeroo)

I am afraid of dogs so I carry pepper spray with me but a couple weeks ago a strange man pulled up in a van in front of me and wanted to give me a ride (it was obvious I was on a run, running clothes, iPod, ect). I was glad then that I had the pepper spray. I would definitely recommend it.

• gogolegs Amateur 11 posts since
    Aug 21, 2012
    2. Aug 30, 2012 1:32 PM (in response to Sejeroo)