Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

938974 Views 4,715 Replies Latest reply: Dec 18, 2013 5:15 PM by timbrown7573 RSS Go to original post 1 ... 291 292 293 294 295 ... 315 Previous Next
  • CEF62 Rookie 1 posts since
    Sep 3, 2012

HI Everyone -

I am new to this post, new to 50 (August), and new to running.  I started running my own version of a C25K, after NEVER running, on 8/6/12.  I had been walking about 3 miles 4 times per week for the last three years and needed something more.  I am now up to 4 miles 3-4 times per week at about 10.27 mi.  I am running my first 5K this sunday.  I pushed myself the other morning (Tuesday) and did 5 miles and had terrible right ankle and heel pain after the run.  Tried to run on it yesterday and couldnt even push out 3 miles without stopping 3 times.  I am impatient and think that maybe I have been trying to do too much too soon??  Any advice on how to create a running schedule that is challaning and builds in progress but at the right pace?  Thanks!! 

• mkayc Legend 582 posts since
    Jun 8, 2011

CEF, welcome!! I am an expert on impatience. Look over the training plans online for race lengths like 10k or half marathon and see how the experts advise you to do it. Pick one you can live with and STICK TO IT!! (shouty because that's the hard part).

GUESS WHO JUST GOT A BIB FOR THE AF HM THIS SATURDAY!!!?????  I did I did I did   Doing my happy dance before this **** gets serious.

Mary Kay

Running: Started 5/6/2011; Graduated C25k - 7/21/11; Graduated B210k - 11/24/11;

PRs: 5k - 36:42; 8k - 1:10; 4.15 m - 53.41; 10k - 1:18; HM - 2:56:31