Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

8551 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Sep 26, 2012 5:14 PM by S W T RSS
Bresus Rookie 2 posts since
Aug 4, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 12, 2012 12:38 AM

How to prevent knee-pain?

Hello all,

I have been running (on treadmills/trails/roads) for several years but have finally signed up for my first marathon in Jan '13.

As such, I am running more frequently and longer distances (as per the Beginner Maratho Program) and have started feeling some knee pain mostly after the runs - both on the sides and on the front of the knee. I don't know if that is expected/normal, but wary of this becoming a big problem. I have also been doing a few sprints (on the treadmill) - is that a concern?

Any tips on what I can do to prevent the knee pain? What are the recommended warm-ups/stretching? I have got new shoes recently and they seem comfortable.

Thanks in advance for the responses!

• Shaun_Nichols Amateur 7 posts since
    Aug 23, 2012
    1. Sep 12, 2012 10:49 AM (in response to Bresus)

Without knowing any previous medical, it can only be assumed that you are somewhat healthy. With that being said, I have found that my knees seem to give me a problem when using the treadmill. Once I stopped using the treadmill and went strictly to road or track, I have not had as many aches in my knees. I know everyone is different but you may want to monitor the situation a bit to see if running primarily on the trails and roads help the situation any.

• rb77 Amateur 37 posts since
    Oct 20, 2010
    2. Sep 12, 2012 3:59 PM (in response to Bresus)