Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

12456 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2012 8:21 PM by CamaroZ28c RSS
CLScalise Rookie 2 posts since
Mar 28, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 26, 2012 9:36 AM

Cold Weather Running

Hello! I am a newbie runner who is starting the Couch to 5k program in the winter...in upstate NY! I live at the base of the Adirondacks and it is already quite cold and blustery.  What recommendations do other newbie cold weather runners have for element protecting running gear that does not have a lot of bulk? I am on a tight budget and would like to continue to keep up with the winter outdoor running routine. Any advice anyone can offer would be great!

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. Nov 26, 2012 12:37 PM (in response to CLScalise)
    Cold Weather Running

Vests are great because they allow greater arm movement while also keeping the core body area warm.  Check out some of your local thrift stores and Ebay because you can find some great bargains (some of the items may be marketed to skiers or hikers, but also work wonderfully for runners).  The main thing is to simply dress in layers and make sure that the dri-fit, wicking shirt is on first.  Basically, look for those climate control fabrics that are durable and insulated...they do not have to be the most expensive brands to work well, so look around and you will find lots of combinations that will do wonderfully. 

Wishing you all the best.

• Rich in NH Legend 850 posts since
    Dec 10, 2007
    2. Nov 26, 2012 1:54 PM (in response to CLScalise)
    Cold Weather Running