Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1459 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 10, 2012 12:12 PM by BOSNPM
Krystalannp Rookie 1 posts since
Nov 20, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 9, 2012 2:48 PM

When should I work on increasing my pace?

Hello all.  I'm a newbie runner.  I just started about 6 months ago, and I've completed two 5ks, and 8k and I'm running my first 10k in a few weeks.  I've completed all of these races, but my pace is rather slow, about 11:30/mi.  My question is when is a good time to transition from working on endurance to working on my pace?

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. Dec 9, 2012 3:46 PM (in response to Krystalannp)

It really depends on your personal training schedule and priorities.  Sounds like you are doing wonderfully and participating in a lot of events, which is always a great motivating factor to improve for the next level of reaching specific goals. 

There are several specific plans that are designed to slowly build endurance and increase the overall mileage with a particular training distance, but many of those are "cookie cutter" recommendations that do not allow for individual circumstances or situations.