Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2362 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Mar 17, 2013 7:31 PM by Woody100
madra Rookie 3 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 5, 2013 2:36 PM

What do you do on rest days?

I'm working toward running a 13.1 in May.  I'm building mileage slowly and understand that it's important to have rest days for muscle repair.  I'm rather new at running (never run this distance before) and I'm wondering...

What do you do on "rest" days?  Do you completely take the day off - no work out at all?  Do you bike?  Do elliptical? Weights?  If weights, do you stay away from legs?  I don't have the option of swimming.

My personal goals are: 1) general long-term health, 2) weight loss (also eathing carefully), and 3) finishing the half-marathon going as slowly as I need.

Any tips would be welcome.

~ Madra

• LeighDS Amateur 21 posts since
    Feb 11, 2012
    1. Jan 7, 2013 6:48 AM (in response to madra)

My general schedule is broken down into lifting and runnign days. My rynning days vay between 3-4 and my liftiing 4-5. They kind of all depend on my schedule, weather, soreness, etc. But my usual week has 4 days of lifting and 3 days of running. If I feel I need a "day off" I usually only run 2 miler, enought ot say I did something but not enough activity to hinder me.