Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

795 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 19, 2013 8:48 PM by QincyNL RSS
hayes55987a Rookie 1 posts since
Nov 27, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 27, 2012 3:51 PM

Peroneal Nerve injury?

I've been battling a leg injury for several months now

Original Post: http://community.active.com/message/1211083#1211083

and have recently come back from the orthopedic. I have gone through PT (Assumed it was an ITB injury and to stretch it) and recently finished an MRI and orthopedic surgeon visit.

The MRI came back perfectly normal and the orthopedic agreed it was nothing and ITB. The symptoms of pain are still there occasionally when I sit cross legged and my foot is pointed towards the floor.

I'm not sold on the ITB yet as I have just come off 5 weeks of total rest (nothing) and still have the same lower level. I've moved on to the Peroneal nerve injuries and am trying to get a second diagnosis.

The orthopedic surgeon said it was very rare to injure this and that the odds of this happening are not very good. I wasn't to satisfied with this answer as I'd rather have him diagnose me on symptoms rather then probability but that is what I was left with.

My thoughts are:
Pulled my hamstring

Stretched/foam rolled, etc and in the end, ended up with a nerve impingement.

The hamstring has been fixed but I now have this nerve I am dealing with. As I run more and more, the inflammation increases and so does the nerve findings. As I stop running and rest, inflammation goes away and the nerve irritation subsides.