Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1027 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Mar 12, 2013 11:45 AM by gilbertholdings RSS
Snowy1978 Amateur 33 posts since
Jun 7, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 9, 2013 11:51 AM

Hip Flexors?

I just started training for my first half marathon.  Today I ran 4 miles.  Toward the end of my run, I noticed some achiness.  I am not sure if the area is considered the hip flexor area but basically the ache runs along my bathing suit line where my leg connects to my torso.  Prior to today, I have not run in several months and I am 10 pounds overweight.  Could these two issues be the cause or the aches?  Is it safe to just run through it as I did today or could I injur myself?  Any advice is appreciated!

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,276 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. Mar 9, 2013 3:22 PM (in response to Snowy1978)
    Re: Hip Flexors?

Realistically, you're a newbie. 4 miles after having "not run in several months" is a lot.  So yes, you should expect some soreness. I would suggest you back off and go with run/walk (maybe 3 minutes/2 minutes), starting at about 2 miles, every other day.  Work back into it gradually, adding distance a little at a time, and/or changing the run/walk ratio. You'll be able to get back sooner than a C25K type program, but it will still take some time. I've been through something similar (off for 2 months) and it took several weeks to work up to a steady 4 mile run.

Len

Len

• MarkEichenlaub Amateur 18 posts since
    Jun 17, 2012
    2. Mar 10, 2013 4:12 PM (in response to Snowy1978)
    Hip Flexors?