Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

719 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Mar 20, 2013 11:47 AM by BOSNPM RSS
Ozigal Rookie 1 posts since
Mar 19, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 20, 2013 5:13 AM

Absolute Beginner

Hi there...

A bit of background:

I'm Female, 45 years old and 5' 6" tall. Up until recently I weighed 110kg (around 248lbs) and am now down to 87.3kg (192lbs) so it's a 50lb weight loss to start with all from walking 5+ miles a day. I fractured a kneecap 15+ years ago and I used that as an excuse not to do things but in hindsight it was more likely the 110kg that was holding me back. Anyway... when I started to lose weight I said to myself that I would start running when I hit 80kg. Last weekend I had a bit of a think about it and started wondering if I really did need to wait until I was down to 80kg. The way I am going that would be another 2-3 months away.

Monday morning I went out for my first c25k run and I felt fine. My knee didnt hurt. I wasnt hugely out of breathe and I got through the entire experience relatively easily. Certainly more easily than I thought I would. To say I was happy about it would be an understatement. Here are the "run" details:  http://www.rundouble.com/?page=map/3141039/RVEGgG2735