Minor A Little League Rules...During Batter4 at bat, a wild pitch allows runner to score from third base. Batter4 draws a walk and is only runner on the bases. Batter5 is hit by second pitch and is now on first, Batter4 is on second. Batter6 takes one pitch his team Manager,(they were Visitors) asks for Timeout. He brings to my attention(I am Plate Umpire) that the last run scoring on the wild pitch was the 5th run and the inning should have ended. The opposing team(Home) concurs and the teams switch sides.
What I Did: Informed the visiting team that when they batted in the next inning Batter6 would be the first batter with a new count(0-0). The Home Team Manager was informed that all pitches would stay on record for the pitch count as well as the hit by pitch,(it was pitchers 2nd HBP)
The Visiting Team wanted Batter4 to be first to bat when they resumed and wanted an explanation.
My response, " Show me in the rulebook before his team bats again where it states that his way is correct". He was unable to and Batter6 batted first.
Ironically, this same Manager wanted an OUT called on a batter/runner sliding into first base(feet first). I asked him to show me in the Rule Book where it declares an out. The only way an out is called is if the runner slid head first.
What if B5 had grounded into an inning-ending double play? The defense recorded some outs there.
What's the big deal? For that level, I would have had no problem had you called that one either way. The idea of the 5-run rule is to prevent the merry-go-round effect where you only get 1 or 2 innings in. The goal is to get both teams some defensive time to learn the game.
Sounds to me like some of the managers are WAY too serious about the game for Minors A.
Conclusion: Don't sweat the small stuff (at that level in particular).
Suggestion: If you are an umpire, don't EVER say "Show me in the rulebook where......." You are looking for trouble. You are supposed to know all the rules, and you might need to be giving a short rules clinic. But the issue is your cred!
Rather, if a manager wants to protest, HE must cite the rule that has been mis-interpreted. That's when he needs to get into his own rule book. So if the guy yaps that you can't slide into first base, you say simply, "No such rule!" Leave it there.
Somewhere on this board are the Myths of baseball. Read those and the rule that go with them. Then you will be prepared to rule confidently and effectively. Finally, be careful of league "House" rules. Some of them get ridiculous and they actually violate the intent of the basic rules. These create bad habits as the kids and managers move up in the scale of Little League ball. [F'rinstance, does your league say that you can't slide into first base? I sure hope not......]
I have read the 40 Myths of Baseball. Excellent reading. Found those years back and I have had them with me at games when I coached. Now I have them on my Smartphone along with videos provided by Little League Int. with a dozen or so rules and explanations.
Thinking back, your are correct, I should not have told him to show me in the rulebook. I know there is "no" rule where an out is called sliding into first. I believe I might have asked that question here over 5 years ago.
I always get great answers from you(Mike CVUA) and Lou.
Question/Situation: During an at bat, the coaches are telling the batter move back towards catcher in the box. Each pitch, they repeat instructions. Prior to a 3-2 pitch, the coaches have directed the player so far back that his foot is completely out of the box.
A. Call time and let the coaches know what has occurred, so it would prevent a possible hit for the kid.
B. Let the play continue and call player out if he hits the ball.
I allowed the play to continue, the player hit a hard grounder passed SS and LF to the fence. Immediately after contact, I called Time, but to no avail. The dugout and fans were to involved in the play. Unfortunately, when the runner stepped on homeplate on the apparent Inpark Homer, (I was waving my hands over my head calling for Time through most of the baserunning)
I declared, " Illegally batted ball, batter was out of the box, the batter is out for the 3rd out-end of inning."
I thought I would get a richter scale response of about a 10.
If the batter is clearly out of the batters box BEFORE the pitcher starts the windup, you have erred! You should not let a pitch begin if the batter is not properly set. Call time, and re-set the batter. Note that BOTH feet must be COMPLETELY within the batters box (and the lines count) before you allow the pitch to start.
Now, if the batter were properly set, and then during the pitching motion or offer he steps with one foot 100% OUT of the box ON THE GROUND, you have an IBB, and you call time and award the out.
If a foot is in the air when the ball is hit (bunt situation usually), no violation.
If the foot is on the ground and part of it is on the line, no violation.
Note that as the game goes on, the lines will be obliterated, and you cannot make that call, at least not in the back of the box. And this assumes that your league put down lines in the first place! LOL! You are more likely to have to figure out an IBB or Defensive Interference on the catcher!
Hope that helps.
Mike, This helps a lot. Thanks. The coaches kept directing him to move backwards with no regard to his position. Other things were occurring, for example, balls and strikes(I know not arguable) where the batter was too far from plate or too close to towards pitcher or catcher. After game, I explained to both managers that the strike zone is where the ball crosses the plate, not where the batter is standing.
Your first paragraph added to my guilt of taking an in park homer, and I will make sure to this doesn't occur again, on my part that is.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.