Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

379 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 1, 2013 2:39 PM by LukeRoberts89 RSS
LoriKorzen Rookie 5 posts since
Feb 4, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 31, 2013 3:42 PM

New to Trail Running...Columbia, North Face shoes?

I am brand new to trail running and looking for a pair of shoes with some good grip to them but don't want to sacrifice cushioning and stability.  Does anyone run in Columbia, North Face or Keen Trail running shoes?  Are they as good as an asics or mizuno?

Can anyone recommend a pair of trail shoes for someone with mild overpronation with excellent cushioning?

• LukeRoberts89 Rookie 1 posts since
    Apr 1, 2013
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 1, 2013 2:39 PM (in response to LoriKorzen)
    New to Trail Running...Columbia, North Face shoes?

I recently moved from mostly road running to mostly trail running. After destroying my Asics by using them off-road, I researched several pairs of trail runners, and decided on the Salomon SpeedCross 3. I ran a 13.1 last weekend (LBJ Grasslands Trail Run in Texas) and they really performed well, especially given the adverse conditions. I know little to nothing about pronation nor am I any kind of expert, but I can tell you that I have run in these shoes, off-road, for almost 80 miles and LOVE them.They clean up like new and feel just as good as any of my past several pairs of Asics. not heavy. very gripy and fun to run in.