Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

861 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 13, 2013 6:59 AM by Rich_Ives
BlueBlood Amateur 11 posts since
Apr 3, 2002
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 12, 2013 6:20 AM

Runner returning to touch a missed base

Dear Blues

 

What are all the situations when a runner CANNOT return to touch a missed base?

 

Thanks

 

edited to state: OBR rule set.

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 12, 2013 7:41 AM (in response to BlueBlood)
    Runner returning to touch a missed base

    1) If he has entered the dugout.

     

    2) If AFTER the moment that the ball went dead, he continues running and touches the next base (the one he is approaching at the time).

     

    That's the list.

     

    Note that High School rules are different for item 2) so there could be a discussion if someone were to try to apply the HS rule to an OBR game. In HS rules he cannot return if he is on or beyond his time-of-pitch base. Significant difference.

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Apr 13, 2013 6:59 AM (in response to BlueBlood)
    Runner returning to touch a missed base

    Runner misses 3B and crosses the plate - live ball - can he return to 3B to touch?

     

    Yes - and he must re-touch the plate on his way back.  If he doesn't retouch he would be out ON APPEAL but you cannot call it on your own or notify the other team of the possibility.

     

     

    Runner misses 3B crosses the plate - live ball - and a subsequent runner crosses the plate behind him?

     

    No.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points