Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4981 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Jul 2, 2013 8:00 PM by lenzlaw RSS
gogolegs Amateur 11 posts since
Aug 21, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 24, 2012 1:42 PM

What to eat before running that is light?

I am a newbie and do 3 miles 3x week hoping to do more as it gets cooler, Central FL is rough with the humidity even though it's feels good to sweat, I run about 6:15 am and not much for eating that early is there something very light I can eat before my run that won't bog me down, I feel like I run out of fuel half way into it and have to walk to catch my spark again, I was wondering about the Gel packs? or if someone can advise, at the most I do a half a banana.

• NotYetDead Amateur 12 posts since
    Nov 3, 2010
    1. Sep 24, 2012 2:19 PM (in response to gogolegs)

I like to eat a Specail K protein meal bar two hours before a run or race.  It's light, tasty (like a rice crispie treat), and has never caused me any woes on a run.   I add a half a scoop of Gatorade to my water bottle, and at mile 8 consume one Gel - mandarin orange is my favorite. 

Hope that helps!

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    2. Sep 26, 2012 2:04 PM (in response to gogolegs)

Granola is good, along with light fruit, yogurt, or maybe a handful of trail mix.  You should not need a gel pack for shorter routes, but 1/2 of a cliff bar might be okay or possibly oatmeal with raisins, for example.  1/2 a bagel with almond butter and honey is another option that sometimes works great or a quick blueberry smoothie.