Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

472 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 18, 2013 9:58 AM by AGiven RSS
PeterME Amateur 12 posts since
Mar 4, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 28, 2013 8:28 AM

Heart monitors - Recommendations?  Thoughts?

I'm new to running, just into week 4 of C25K and 57 years old.  I use my android phone with both C25K app and CardioTrainer for "coaching" and tracking stats.

I'm considering a heartrate monitor, but I'm seeing all sorts of conflicting information about which ones work and which don't and even whether there's really any point to using one at all.

Before I go spending money on something, I thought I would ask for advice from a group that might know more than I do.

Thanks for your input.

• AGiven Rookie 1 posts since
    Nov 2, 2009
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 18, 2013 9:58 AM (in response to PeterME)
    Heart monitors - Recommendations? Thoughts?

There is a lot of info out there about HR training and it does often conflict.  First if you are going to striclty follow a HR Training plan then it can deifntley be beneficial to you and your race plan/times.  If you are not going to take the time to understand HR training and follow a plan its probably not woth it even though there are some relaively inexepnsive HR monitors on the market.