Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4069 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Apr 19, 2013 11:40 AM by Kelly1066 RSS
Kelly1066 Pro 114 posts since
Jul 12, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 4, 2013 12:19 PM

life after C25k... what's next?!?!

Hey everyone!

I'm a C25k graduate (started last July, ran my first 5k in September) who is now struggling to adjust to this new identity as a "runner" (really a jogger, but does that sound cool?  no, that sounds like sweatpants and the eighties and I am working so hard, can I please say runner?).

Wondering what other people have started to do after the C25k.  I'm signed up for a 10k in June.  Right now I'm running 10 miles a week, at a snails pace, and struggling with the fact that I'm making no progress towards running faster because I'm focusing on mileage rather than running faster.  I just wrote a blog post about this here:  http://kellysnormal.blogspot.com/2013/04/the-only-way-to-run-faster-is-to-run.html

Any other C25k graduates struggling with where to go next?

I'm trying to decide where running fits in my life and what type of runner I am....

on the one hand, I just like how I feel after I run, the boost it gives my mood, how giddy I feel adding the miles to my calendar, and how guilt-free I attack a martini or some mac and cheese that night, because I honestly feel I've earned it and it's part of a balanced lifestyle since I've exercised and eat healthy most of the time.