Skip navigation

1368 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: May 2, 2013 8:30 PM by Soltari
davetroy Rookie 2 posts since
Mar 9, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 28, 2013 11:22 AM

Is 12 weeks of training between an Olympic tri and a half IM reasonable?

Hi, everyone. I recently did an Olympic tri (two weeks ago) and have my eyes on a couple of half-IMs that range from 10-14 weeks out. I'd like to do one of them, but only if training for one is reasonable. I'm 53 years old, male and have done a handful of sprint and Olympic tris (my background is mostly in running: two marathons and eight half marathons). Between tri training and marathon training, I'm accustomed to training 6-10 hours per week and have time for a little more. I'm assuming that my training for the Olympic tri got me partway towards the training for an half IM. Or am I wrong about that? I had been following Matt Fitzgerald's Olympic tri program (level 3), so I guess I'm wondering whether I need to start from week one of a half IM program or if there's some kind of bridge program that others out there have followed.

I'm not looking to compete, but I do want to enjoy the experience.

Thanks,

Dave

• NzAndy Pro 77 posts since
    Oct 23, 2010

Based on my single 70.3 I'd say you'll be fine if you can do an Olympic comfortably.  Keep up the training, but if you're able to do marathons you'll be fine on race day.  The biggest difference here is the swim.  It's not much longer (2000 meters vs 1500) compared to the bike and run legs which double.  My approach was to get to where I could complete the swim and cruise the bike and run.  Now I have a full collection of 70.3 items to show I did it. 

I'm not familiar with the program you mentioned.  I didn't use one for my race, I just kept doing endurance work on all 3 parts until I had the distances down which seemed to work fine.

One final note is that it was only 4 weeks between my Olympic and 70.3 so 12 weeks would have been a lot nicer!