Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

483 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: May 5, 2013 5:32 PM by dxwalker RSS
bkleindl Rookie 1 posts since
May 3, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

May 3, 2013 6:39 PM

New runner

Hi I am new here and at running. Really need any tips you can give me, I have just started running.  I am just learning and I noticed that I feel like I run like an elephant. Boom Boom  How do I change this or will it get better as I run?

• MegaDan88 Amateur 26 posts since
    Mar 1, 2013
    1. May 4, 2013 11:43 PM (in response to bkleindl)
    New runner

There will probably be somebody with more posts than I that will answer this. I don't know how old you are, how much you weigh, and so forth. But I think most would say these few things:

1. Get fitted for good running shoes. Motion control shoes for pronators especially (I wear motion control shoes)

2. don't start too hard, too fast. Build the slim base you start with and go from there. warm up and stretch, cool down after workout and stretch

3. What are your goals? Make short, medium, and long term goals and go out to achieve them. Hal Higdon site and active site have some sample training programs for 5k up to marathon. I take bits and pieces of things and try to make something work for me and my busy schedule.

4. Consider cross training like elliptical, bike, rowing, swimming, stair climbing, to aid in your running especially in the beginning if you are out of shape or overweight. Work on weight loss and dieting.