Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

662 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: May 6, 2013 7:57 PM by Rich_Ives
RFIP Rookie 5 posts since
Jun 18, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 5, 2013 3:36 PM

NFHS Balk Rule?

Umpire told our coach that it is a balk (in high school) if the pitcher comes to the set position if he holds his glove above his chin.

 

Is this true?

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. May 6, 2013 3:04 AM (in response to RFIP)
    NFHS Balk Rule?

    There is always an "observed" ruling that the observer does not have total info on.  Thus, a sound byte gets out like this one.

     

    While I don't do Fed, your account of the ruling is a PIROOMA to me.

     

    There's got to be more to this than just being higher than the chin.  F'rinstance, were the hands continuing to creep down slowly?  That means he's NOT set, so yes that would be a balk.

     

    This question is best answered by Fed umps, but I sense there is something missing here.

     

    Mike CVUA

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. May 6, 2013 7:57 PM (in response to RFIP)
    NFHS Balk Rule?

    FED Rule"

     

    He shall come to a complete and discernible stop (a change of direction

    is not considered an acceptable stop) with the ball in both hands in front of the

    body and his glove at or below his chin.

     

     

    FED Case Play

     

    6.1.3 SITUATION N: With R1 at third and R2 at first, F1 comes to a complete

    stop with his glove partially above his chin. Is this legal? RULING: This is legal.

     

     

    Bottom line - it's only a balk if the entire glove is higher than the chin.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points