Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4003 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jun 4, 2013 10:41 AM by Hawkwind RSS
iamplainjayne Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 30, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

May 1, 2013 5:09 AM

Newbie runner - knee and ankle discomfort?

I'm a newbie "runner" (haha) - 5'7 and 180 lbs (ok...179.5)....Just had my second baby 6 months ago and have worked hard to lose 20 lbs since mid January....I completed week one of c25k last week (WOOHOO!!!!).  I am noticing that I am having some knee and ankle "discomfort" - it's definitely not pain.  Here's my question...since I have pretty much been inactive for...well, let's just say YEARS now (and clearly overweight) is this something that may get better as I become more fit?  Are there exercises I can do to strengthen muscles that will better support my knees while running???? I should also mention that I have a toddler and a 6 month old so the gym is OUT for a while....Thanks for any help!

• skypilot77 Legend 1,077 posts since
    Dec 16, 2009
    1. May 1, 2013 5:53 AM (in response to iamplainjayne)

The discomfort is a red flag. If it is just soreness that would be the result of just using the muscles, bones, tendons, etc in a new way. All those parts have to get into shape and use to the act of running.

If it is pain, or develops into pain then you will have to stop and figure out what is causing the pain.

The body does not want to run. The body is perfectly content to stand still. Once you start putting the new stress of running into the equation then the body wants to rebel.