Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1558 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 9, 2013 10:32 AM by lenzlaw
LeannBeckman Rookie 1 posts since
Jun 1, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 1, 2013 7:52 PM

Pain on the top of my foot...not sure what it is??

I've been running cross country and track for 6 years and my body seems to be freakily resilient since I've never gotten injured except for shin splints once.  Recently, however, I've had this pain on the top of my foot, just where the 3rd metatarsal is.  I'm not sure what it is exactly...stress fracture, tendon strain, or something else.  My foot doesn't hurt when there's no pressure on it, but when I'm walking or running it hurts.  Usually its a sharp pain (it hurts especially if I've been sitting for a long time and suddenly start walking, like when I wake up in the morning); but after I've been walking for a while it dies down a bit.  The pain started mid-April, so it's been a month and a half.  It started not that bad, only an ache, then it went away for a couple days, then it came back again, and it's been on and off for the whole time.  Just a week ago it came back again but this time it was a worse and sharper pain than before and it hurts to even walk, not just when I'm running like before.  The pain is centered in that one area (middle of the top of my foot, an inch away from my toes), and it hurts when I press on that spot but not when I press around it.  It's not from overtraining because track just ended and we've been winding down, not increasing mileage or intensity.