Skip navigation

23123 Views 43 Replies Latest reply: Jun 10, 2013 4:48 AM by johnnydepp117 RSS Go to original post 1 2 3 Previous Next
  • DrLisa Rookie 2 posts since
    Mar 26, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    30. Nov 5, 2009 12:30 PM (in response to susan-n-the black dog)
    Re: Big Girl Walking...

First off, you are NOT the only big girl out there trying to get fit and change your lifestyle.  There are a lot of us out here.  I think we just need to feel more empowered to connect with each other.

I'm wear a size 22 and I've been athletic for about 4 years now.  I've participated in 5K, 10K, and half marathon races, and I've done one triathlon (so far).  I've been a walk coach for Team in Training for 2 years, and I recently became a certified personal trainer.  From my experience, let me tell you that spending a little money on the proper fitness clothes (yes, moisture wicking and all that) will make you feel so much more legitimate out there doing your workouts.  The bare minimum you need:  1) good shoes, 2) non-cotton socks, 3) properly fitting sports bra, 4) shorts, shirts, tights, etc.

Ok, so where do you find these clothes?  This is a HUGE problem and all of us are having it.  You might think that since the plus sized woman is the person who needs to work out the most, you'd be able to easily find clothes.  Well that's not the case.  You will have to search for them-- you're not just going to be able to walk into your local mass retailer and pick something up.  Here are my favorite places so far...

Sports bra

Honestly, if you are a DD cup or over, Enell makes pretty much the only sports bra for you.  They are not especially pretty but if you follow their directions for proper fit, you will NOT bounce.  I wear a Champion sports bra as my everyday bra, and use the Enell for workouts.  I have heard of a British company that makes a sports bra called the Freya Active, but I haven't been able to try that one yet.

Other clothes