Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

522 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 15, 2013 6:09 AM by Kinver88 RSS
growlerius Pro 74 posts since
Aug 15, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 10, 2013 3:12 PM

Too soon for a half?

Hi guys,

Never thought I'd every post a "can I do it?" question, but here we are.

I've been running regularly for about two years and do a couple organized races per year. Last fall I took about 6 months off due to the birth of my son and decided to start fresh with C25K this year, which went very well and I'm running my fasted times (~8 min miles) of my life. My ultimate goal this year was to do a 10K in October, so I've kind of been middling and doing a couple runs for about 7-8 miles per week. (4+ is my longest run to date.) Nothing consistent, betting to hop on a 10K program in a month or so.

So today I was invited to participate in a half in mid-September. I'd have generous sponsors to get me a spot, and the cause is very near and dear to me. However, it is MUCH longer than any long run I've done, is in 9 weeks, and is quite a hilly course (damn thing's in the Adirondacks).

When I used to read and post here more often I remember (I think???) hearing that tapers are pretty necessary for halfs, too, so here's what I'm thinking:

-Best case scenario, I Galloway the half with a 3:1 or (worst worst case) a 2:1 or (worst worst worst case) I walk a lot of it.

-I'll do two weekly training runs at about 30 mins starting this week.