Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1890454 Views 11,335 Replies Latest reply: Apr 9, 2014 9:16 AM by BreezyB24 RSS Go to original post 1 ... 726 727 728 729 730 ... 756 Previous Next
  • LauriA78 Rookie 1 posts since
    Oct 4, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    10,906. Aug 7, 2013 9:04 AM (in response to Wideguy)
    200+ Pound Club!

I am very new to all of this... joining a website, "blogging" (I guess its called), and running!  I have attempted to run MANY times in the past, because I have always wanted to be able to do it, but have never suceeded close to a mile.  Out of frustration I would give up.  By chance, I came across this thread (again, not sure if I am using the corrrect terminology).  I am just under 200lbs, but this is the heavyiest I have ever been (with the exception of my pregnancy), and even worse, the unhealthiest!!!  Anyway... in some of the posts I came across Jeff Galloway run/walk method.  I googled it and think this approach may work better than what I have tried in the past.  Here are some questions I hope someone can shed some light on...

1.  I, like many other begginers, do not have shoes.  Where do I go for good advice? 

2.  What is the best time to fit in a 30 min walk/run?  Does it even matter?  I have always tried to run in the am to get it over with, but i am NOT a morning person and I assume (I may be wrong) that exercising on an empty stomach is what could have been making me quit so easy.     

Like I said, I am new to this site so I am still learning.  But I hope to get started FEELING BETTER!!!!  Thanks for the help.