Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

740 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 12, 2013 5:18 AM by Haselsmasher RSS
Anastasia26870 Rookie 2 posts since
Aug 3, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 8, 2013 6:14 AM

Morton's Neuroma...

Hello everyone! I've been running on and off for about three years. I had my third child 15 months ago and have been running again for three months. I completed the C25K program, and moved on to Bridge to 10K. I've had various issues with fatigue, hurt knees, but nothing I haven't been able to overcome, until... Morton's neuroma! Ugh! I was just diagnosed yesterday and decided to order orthotics for my running shoes. I'm also looking into alcohol injections, as I'd rather avoid cortisone since I'm nursing. I'm looking into foot alignment socks.

Anyone out there with this issue? I'd love to hear experiences, feedback, etc.

Thank you so much!

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,154 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Aug 9, 2013 10:29 AM (in response to Anastasia26870)
    Morton's Neuroma...

Over the years, there have been a lot of posts regarding MN and related topics. Just enter "neuroma" in the Search Cool Running Community link at the top of this page. While the sheer number of facts and opinions can be overwhelming, you've already saved a lot of time by obtaining a diagnosis. Still, you've seen that solutions are all over the map. You are wise to avoid the steroid injections, but will find that the condition can continue to progress despite alcohol injections, which bring temporary relief.