Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

946 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Sep 3, 2013 7:17 PM by lenzlaw
Cleric1C Rookie 1 posts since
Sep 3, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 3, 2013 3:59 PM

Shoes causing calf\achille's pain?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie runner who started ~six months ago and run ~3 miles ~3 times per week. When I run both my calf muscles and get really tight, to the point where it is too painful to continue. I tried things like extensive stretching beforehand and lots of warm up, but to no avail. Then I tried switching shoes. I usually run in Asic Gel Cumulus 13's (recommended by my local running store), and I switched to the only other pair of sneakers I have, a pair of ancient beat up NB 805s that are some type of cross trainer\trail runners. The NB's were hot, heavy, and uncomfortable, but my calf\achille's pain went away. When I run in the Asic's it feels like there is too much padding in the midfoot, to the point where it seems like I'm rolling over a little speed bump each time I put my foot down. So I'm thinking that the way I run maybe isn't compatible with the shoe and may be contributing to the calf pain.

Given all that, any recommendations on a specific shoe or type of shoe that might be a better fit? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

• Haselsmasher Legend 520 posts since
    May 25, 2009
    1. Sep 3, 2013 6:34 PM (in response to Cleric1C)
    Re: Shoes causing calf\achille's pain?