Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2752 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 7, 2013 7:10 AM by Kelly1066
Taollie Rookie 1 posts since
Sep 25, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 25, 2013 12:00 PM

Motivation? Are you there?

I did the c25k program almost 4 years ago and got there. I was overweight my whole life, 5'5 and hovering around 230 from the time I graduated HS, and decided, at 30, when my son was almost 2 that I had to change the way I did things. I was terrified of him one day asking me why I was fatter than all of the other moms. I started with watching carbs, shed 20 lbs in 2 months and then decided I wanted to see if I could be a runner. I found the program on the web and convinced my bf to join me.  The program was amazing: to experience never having run more than 1/8 of a mile without stopping to making it to 2.5 miles in 8 weeks was truly unforseeable. By the end of the program, I believe 9 weeks, I was down a total of 65 pounds and then got pregnant again and everything halted. I am now having trouble finding time/motivation to get up and keep going, I run occasionally, but really want to experience that "ahh" again... I had gotten there and was so proud to call myself a runner, it was and still is something I really enjoy but I am having trouble staying on track...I am currently at 175 and nothing makes me smile more than hearing both of my kids ask if they can go walking with me or "you going on your run, mommy?". Seeing all of this as I write makes me think...um this should be enough motivation, but why isn't it? Also, I live in the NE and it is starting to get cold,