Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

5976 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Nov 26, 2013 9:43 AM by ScheerVegas RSS
rcollett52 Rookie 1 posts since
Nov 8, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 8, 2013 10:48 AM

Taking on "Couch to 5K" any advice

Well, I was reading a thread posted back in 2010 about over 50 and 5K.  Interesting, but most of the information related to people who already RUN.  I am a Newbie to running as an idea of sport.  Other than playing tennis, softball, working out with Jazzercise, Step Aerobics, Yoga and Hiking in my lifetime, I haven't been a runner per se.  I am looking for advice from those in my age range or there abouts and who started newly running during that time.  What can I expect?

I am fairly healthy, somewhat overweight, but strong physically.  My goal is to become dedicated to exercise that will drive me to be active because I desire to move and be in good physical health, at a good body weight and increase my stamina and heart health.

I am just over 60, but young at heart and will take on challenges with full gusto!  Again any advice welcomed!  Thanks everyone,

• shipo Legend 455 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Nov 8, 2013 11:48 AM (in response to rcollett52)

Congratulations on the C25K thing.