Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3997 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Nov 8, 2013 12:05 PM by Kelly1066 RSS
csantoni Rookie 3 posts since
Apr 5, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 16, 2013 10:15 AM

first half marathon, not sure I'm ready

I signed up for a half marathon a few months ago and have been training for it. The race is this Sunday and based on my recent long runs I'm not sure I can do it. I have been running steadily for about 2 years and have completed several 5ks and one 10k.

My training plan was based on an article I read that said if you can run 3 miles (my typical workout) then you can increase your mileage over time and do a half. The plan calls for limiting all runs except your long runs to 3 miles and increasing the long run by 1.5 miles every two weeks. Everything went fine for a while and I did a 7.5 mile run with no problems. 2 weeks later, during my 9 mile run, I started to have knee pain and wound up walking the last two miles. Since then I haven't been able to go more than 6 miles without the pain kicking in. It seems to be an IT-band issue and stretching helps prevent it during shorter runs but no matter what I do, the 6 mile mark is a wall.

The question: should I attempt my race on Sunday? I don't think I should but I'm really disappointed to skip it and don't want to if there's any chance I might finish.

• shipo Legend 455 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Oct 16, 2013 11:42 AM (in response to csantoni)
    Re: first half marathon, not sure I'm ready