Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1177 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Nov 15, 2013 9:13 AM by tongyliu
tongyliu Rookie 2 posts since
Nov 12, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 12, 2013 9:32 AM

Shoe Wear Detector -- Good Idea?

Hey guys,

I'm a high school student and for an engineering capstone project, my partner and I are considering creating a device that will be able to detect if a shoe is worn out. We believe this will help to prevent injuries caused by running in dangerously worn out shoes (I actually got a stress fracture last track season and I think worn out shoes contributed to this).

What do you all think? We'd love some feedback, either in this thread or through our survey: http://bit.ly/1hnfQ0f

Thanks!

• skypilot77 Legend 1,077 posts since
    Dec 16, 2009
    1. Nov 12, 2013 6:51 PM (in response to tongyliu)

I'd hate to squelch creativity but these are my initial thoughts.

For the newbie runner this might be a good product.

But for a runner with some experience --- we are wearing shoes which are typically the same model, or new model in the shoe family. We know the mileage we have oneach pair of shoes, and know when the time comes to swap them out.

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,431 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    2. Nov 12, 2013 7:29 PM (in response to tongyliu)