Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

737 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 14, 2014 11:29 AM by RLBlunt8384 RSS
Scardello Rookie 2 posts since
Jan 14, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 9, 2014 9:32 AM

For trail runners: how do you keep your feet dry?

Hey guys this is my first time posting here. so the back story:

i transitioned to trail running only this summer after street running casued way to many injurys and down time for running. Now that the cold weather is here and snow is on the ground how do you guys keep your feet dry?

I purchased a set of running gaiters from outdoor research and the did a good job keeping the water off the uper part of my ankle but the splashing of the puddles (which were larger then i thought) from my bike and the puddles (which were much, much deeper then i thought) on the trails had my feet soaked by the first mile.

are there waterproof shoes to purchase, better gaiters, or should i just pay more attention to where i run?

than ks guys for the input.

Stephen

• shipo Legend 455 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Jan 9, 2014 10:43 AM (in response to Scardello)

Short answer; I don't.

Long answer; I try to avoid puddles and such wherever and whenever I can, but that almost always means that after my normal trail run, my feet are wet either from one or more puddles (this time of year puddles often lurk below a layer of smooth looking snow), or the dew (or newly fallen rain) on the long grass, or getting splashed bey a passing snowmobile, bike, horse, or ATV.

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,339 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008