Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

750 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 10, 2014 9:34 PM by lenzlaw
QJennifer Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 10, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 10, 2014 1:29 PM

Interval and Long Distance Running

Hi,

I'm new to running. I was originally working toward long distance running until I recently learned about interval running. I did my first workout today and loved it. The thing is, I also love long distance running eventhough my "long distance run" is 3-4 miles of continous running. I'm alternating my interval workouts, running on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. In between, I work on my upper body, do yoga, and work on my core. My aim is to feel and look fit. My question is, because I'm doing interval running and workouts in between, do I stop doing continous running? I really enjoy it but my main focus at the moment is to get fit and interval running seems to have a better effect.

If I can still do continous running, do I run on the same day I do interval running or on my workout days?

Thanks for the help.

• shipo Legend 499 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Jan 10, 2014 2:55 PM (in response to QJennifer)