Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1212 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 28, 2014 9:00 AM by shipo
FitIndianRun Rookie 3 posts since
Jan 26, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 26, 2014 3:10 PM

Time gap between half Marathon and Marathon.

I am 43 and running half marathon on Feb 9. I have been running for past two months and cover almost 20-25 miles each week . Running half marathon should not be problem for me as I have ran one last year too. It usually takes me around 2 hours and 15 minutes to complete half marathon.

I have also registered for marathon on Mar 16 but little skeptical about it because I am not following any training schedule for running a marathon. However, I am ready to run around 30 miles per week starting from this week.

Can somebody please advise me if that would be enough for a novice runner like me to successfully run marathon on Mar 16?

Thanks,

Fit Indian Run

I love reading, writing and running. I am a novice runner who is very passionate about this sport.

Check out my blog - http://fitindianrun.blogspot.com/

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,400 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. Jan 26, 2014 4:20 PM (in response to FitIndianRun)
    Time gap between half Marathon and Marathon.

As the runner you met in Houston said, you don't want to overdo it or jump into it too fast.  If you have only been "running" for two months, the half may be too much.  If you've been running longer (your blog implies more like a year) and only training for the half for two months . . . well, you're better off but would be well advised to go easy at the half.