Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1163 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Feb 12, 2014 6:39 AM by MotionShoe RSS
awaketoolate Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 20, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 20, 2014 9:06 AM

New Shoe Recommendations

I've been needing to buy shoes for a while, but I always get so lost when navigating which shoes would be the best for me. I'm fairly new to all of this so most of the techical terms go over my head (and, like, I have no clue about certain things, like how long my stride is or where I land on my foot). Would anyone be willing to help me out? I'd go to like a Nike outlet or something to have a salesperson recommend me something in person, but I'm afraid they might just try to sell me something I don't really need (plus there's not really one around me).

Here's what I know about my physical shape and running style:

• I'm female
  • I'm 5'7"
  • I weigh 130 lbs (working on losing 15-20)
  • I'm 20 years old
  • My last pair of shoes were black Nikes with purple accents and a skinny sort of sole (but I don't think they were barefoots or anything)
  • I go running 3-5 times a week (ideally)
  • When I run I run for 3-8 miles on both pavement, dirt roads, and some rocky terrain. (My favorite loop has about two miles of running on the roads, one mile of running through a deer path in the woods uphill, and four or so miles running on flat dirt paths)
  • I live in Maine so very often the weather is icey or snowy or slippery (or all of the above) and I'd still like to be able to get out an run
  • I think I might have slightly high arches (either that or normal)