Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2083992 Views 11,393 Replies Latest reply: Jul 30, 2014 1:48 PM by CraigGinman RSS Go to original post 1 ... 754 755 756 757 758 ... 760 Previous Next
  • MaryEllenCassady Rookie 1 posts since
    Feb 12, 2014
    Currently Being Moderated
    11,325. Mar 20, 2014 7:01 AM (in response to Wideguy)
    200+ Pound Club!

Hi!  My name is Mary Ellen and I am just getting started.  I think it is fair to say that I will have to walk-run-walk at first, but I hope to build up to running.  Does anyone have work outs that they can suggest for beginning runners?  I have never been a runner, even when I was young.  Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

• JillianSholl Rookie 3 posts since
    Jan 5, 2014
    11,326. Mar 20, 2014 7:34 AM (in response to jgilrdz27)
    200+ Pound Club!

Jgilrdz27 I will let you know how I do!

Mary Ellen. I have been using couch to 5k. I have the app on my phone. It starts off where you jog for a minute and walk for a minute and a half. Each week it increases. I'm on week 7 and it says to jog 25 minutes. Now I still have to walk some but each time I try to go longer and longer before walking for a few. On Tuesday I went 10 minutes and today I went 16!! After that I just alternate walking and jogging. Once I start walking I have a hard time jogging for very long.

• mattbert777 Rookie 1 posts since
    Mar 20, 2014
    11,327. Mar 20, 2014 8:28 AM (in response to michiigrrl)
    200+ Pound Club!

Hi there-