Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4135 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 9, 2014 9:49 PM by judi811 RSS
NeverTooLate62 Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 10, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 11, 2014 3:27 AM

C25K Week one done but . . . Need HELP!!

Hi all - my name is Tom and I am just starting out as the title implies. I am 62 and I am not sure if I am just looking for some words of encouragement or what. Here is what I have done this first week

Monday - First day of program and could only "run" (sloppy jog) for two of the scheduled times

Tuesday - walked for thirty minutes

Wednesday - I was able to complete 6 of the runs and only by doing the last one when I should have been in my cool down.

Thursday - Walked for thirty minutes - In the afternoon I went to the local running store and bought my first pair of shoes

Friday - I barely made it through 4 of the sloppy jog sessions and now I have two 50 pound legs

I am feeling very frustrated but not enough to give up. Does anyone think that I should just try to repeat week one for next week? If I can't do the 8 one minute runs - how the heck am I going to do more that the second week is asking for? Any suggestions or encouragement would be greatly appreciated. I really want to do this but my legs are screaming at me right now.

Oh yea - I am also doing this at the same "scheduled time" each day. I am a morning person so I am getting up a half hour earlier each day (4:20 am) and doing the routine from 4:30 to 5:00. This leaves me plenty of time to make lunch, shower etc. before going to work.