Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1460 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2014 5:38 AM by JFA02
gawd Pro 174 posts since
Mar 9, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 10, 2010 1:23 PM

HELP! training shoe dilema!

Hi, Im pretty new to running, Iv done a bit years ago and always found it a real struggle feeling like I had hardly any coordination and was flat footed.  Due to health reasons and this 'struggle' the running was abandoned.  On a fairly recent trip to the podiatrist for something I discovered I was 'hypermobile' and so was given insoles with a good size arch on them.  These help a lot but they are that horrible vinyl.....not practical for running, so anyway, I went to the sports shop and asked about running shoes that had a good supportive arch that would be suitable for road and trail running, they recomended a pair of Asics Gel's and told me they were a stability shoe, also recomended that I wear 'gel arches' so I tried them on with the arches and they felt really good apart from my toe was too close to the shoe, I was thinking of ordering a pair online a half size bigger but my other foot is a half-size smaller....so what should I do?  Any recomendations?  The Runner's World shoe finder recomended Asics Gel's too. HELP! A good pair would help so much and I have had a knee injury in the past too so want to avoid further injury if poss....  I dont want to spend too much either as Im just beginning again.  Any help and advice appreciated!

• jjksutton Pro 52 posts since
    Feb 20, 2010
    1. Mar 10, 2010 3:00 PM (in response to gawd)
    Re: HELP! training shoe dilema!