Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1801 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: May 28, 2014 6:40 AM by Haselsmasher
DLD1221 Rookie 1 posts since
Dec 27, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

May 21, 2014 2:51 PM

Mr used to be.

Hi my name is Darrell, I've been running since 1997, I used to do at least one, sometimes two 10k runs pers year and 50-60 miles per month on the average. Iwould finish a 10k anywhere from 57-65 mins. I stopped running in 2010 and didnt start back until 2012. (got married & promotion on my job). When I stopped I weighed anywhere from 190-200lbs, I now weigh in at 233-236 pounds and have done two 10k runs since 2012. Each run I weigh over 230lbs and came in at 83 mins for the first run and 90 mins for the second run. Both runs were the houston bayou city classic 10k. I was so disappointed in the second run I vowed not to spend another dollar on a run until I drop below 200. I still run about 5 times a month 3-5 miles each run, but my time is getting worse. Im at a 16 min mile now and my weight wont go below 230. I suck at diets and my self discipline for the run last about 1 week than I stop for about 2-3 weeks than I'll do two or three days than miss two or three weeks. Any suggestions on how I could get more motivated?    p.s, Im 54 years old.

• shipo Legend 496 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. May 26, 2014 8:31 AM (in response to DLD1221)
    Mr used to be.

Hey DLD,

I suck at diets as well, and when not running my weight quickly shoots up north of 250, and I'm only 5'8".