Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

508 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 5, 2014 2:45 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT
Squirrel13 Rookie 2 posts since
May 23, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

May 23, 2014 5:26 PM

Scoliosis and knee pain

I am new to running and currently on week 5 day 1 of c25k. I am experiencing pain on the inside of my left knee at or slightly below the kneecap. There is no swelling but is sensitive to the touch for about a day after and hurts a bit when I walk for the 2nd day before I run again. I have scoliosis (not severe) and am not sure if it's connected but I suspect it is. My left left leg appears longer than my right because my pelvis is pulled up on the right side. I walk with a very slight limp that is not noticeable. When I run it is noticable. I was an athletic active kid, played soccer for years and don't remember limping down the road. I'm 41 now 5' 10"  208 lbs and losing weight. Is this pain common to new runners or will it likely worsen. I try to concentrate on form but that goes quick as I'm new. Any thoughts would be appreciated

• crl8686 Legend 1,306 posts since
    Nov 11, 2007
    2. Jun 1, 2014 6:23 PM (in response to Squirrel13)
    Scoliosis and knee pain