Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

422 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 7, 2014 8:57 AM by justamaniac
MontrealMike Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 1, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 6, 2014 7:51 AM

Long time jogger but first full marathon

I have been jogging for 14 years but always in the 5 to 10K range 3 times a week. I'm 47, 180lbs and consider myself to be in good shape. This year I'm training for a full 42 at the end of September. I'm following a program a friend gave me. It's 4 runs per week, with the 4th being the long slow run. There are hill, hi tempo and steady pace runs in the program and the KM's vary. I can run 10K in less than 50 minutes.

I need advice in a few areas:

I have insertional achilles tendinitis. This area is sore to the touch after longs runs. I ice and heat both heals. I roll my calves as often as I could. I run with zero drop Merrells (Bare Access). I find less heal lift helps. I add a memory foam liner to add some cushioning as the shoe only has 8mm of cushioning built in. I pop two Tylenols before my LSR but when I get to the 25K mark, the soles of my feet are sore. I tried that heat tape on my heals and calves and did not feel a difference. The shoes have 350Km's on them. I don't know if it's just fatigue, my run style (heal strike) or my shoes but how can I make my feet feel better?