Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

686 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 20, 2014 3:34 PM by vena_cava RSS
vena_cava Rookie 5 posts since
Jul 15, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 18, 2014 3:59 PM

Calf pain?

I'm a sort-of new runner; I've been doing it off and on for a couple of years...most recently I stopped because of a bout with sciatica, and I just started up again about a month ago. I run very short distances (never more than 2 miles) and very slowly.

I have tremendous calf pain when I start running again after not having done so for a while, even though I do a stretching regimen before and after each run, plus single-calf raises on days when I don't run. If I'm not careful, my calves will be so stiff the day after a run that I'll have difficulty walking. I'd like to hear from others who may have had similar issues. Does the pain go away when you run more and develop more calf strength? 

Thanks.

• shipo Legend 455 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Jul 18, 2014 6:36 PM (in response to vena_cava)
    Calf pain?

I cannot stress this next comment stongly enough; stop stretching before you run, at best it does no good, at worst it damages the muscle and connective tissues.

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,390 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    2. Jul 18, 2014 8:44 PM (in response to vena_cava)
    Re: Calf pain?