Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

9484 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 28, 2014 1:32 AM by marathonnancy
Fogarr Rookie 3 posts since
Jul 26, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 26, 2014 10:09 AM

Training for 1st Marathon, pain and pacing questions

Heya,

I'm a long time runner (15 plus years) with no real training experience (44 year old male, about 187 lbs, several 5 &10ks and a sprint tri under my belt).  I've been doing 12-25 miles per week for many years. I've tried to train for two marathons and injured myself both times during the training and quit (calf tear, ankle twists).  4 years ago I transitioned to barefoot running and now run in a minimal zero drop shoe (Inov-8).  During that transition I develped soleus pain and a bit of top of foot pain.  But that's gone now, for a couple years.  That is, until I started the beginner marathon training plan on this website (the one for time, not for just finishing). This one: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_4/130.shtml

I hear that if there's some tweaks of pain then I should back off the pace.  However, I also try to keep the 180 steps per minute, so does this mean to not raise my feet so much?  Or should I slow my tempo from 180?  My average pace is about 8:30 both on 3m and long runs.