Skip navigation

2571 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Dec 22, 2007 8:24 AM by Manti RSS
ThePSUDon Rookie 2 posts since
Dec 11, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 11, 2007 9:05 AM

Beginner Needs Help

Hi all,

I'm very new to the triathlon scene.  I just ran a 10K this June and have up'd my training since then.  I now work both the bike and running in.  In January, I am going to get a membership to the local YMCA to add swimming (I am a decent swimmer already).  I live in Alrington, VA now and work in Georgetown (Washington, DC).  I was just wondering if anyone could help me out in any way possible.  I notice that sometimes after a combined session (35 min. bike, 30 min. run), my lower back seems really sore.  Am I doing something wrong?  I guess any help at all would be great because I would like to progress in this sport a lot.  Thanks in advance for any help.

• activeperson Amateur 20 posts since
    Oct 15, 2007
    1. Dec 11, 2007 12:54 PM (in response to ThePSUDon)
    Re: Beginner Needs Help

HI thePSUDon

One common issue for lower back pain is incorrect bike sizing. You're frame may be too large or too small for you. Depending on how long you ride the pain will be come more evident.

Do you hurt after you do 10k runs? If not then I'm guessing that its the bike that could be the problem. The best way to see if your bike is too large for you is to go to a Local Bike shop (there are a few in Georgetown, Big Wheel Bikes, revolution cycles etc...) and have them measure you. Just out of curiousity how tall are you and how large is your bike? Also how tall are you from the waist up? (Some people have long legs, short torso and vice versa) You can probably go online and just google 'bike fitting' and you'll find a bunch of quick ways to see if your bike is approx the right size.