Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

2827 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 28, 2008 6:53 PM by LuLuMonkey
NoviceRunner Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 26, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 26, 2007 11:10 AM

Avid Runner and strict dieter...

I've been running since 2002 and have achieved my goal of being able to sustain a 6.0 mile pace for about 60 minutes.  Recently, I've been using a novice training schedule for a half marathon in October by working up to running 3 miles and then walking for a couple minutes and drinking water, then running 3 more miles.  I would do this 4 times to simulate the half marathon.  I've been seeing results and also pain in my hips and knees.  When I take a rest from this by cross training or stretching, I can really tell that my body wants to run and I feel fat when I don't run one day.  Also, with all this running I'm doing, I am still a "heavy" runner, but I can run my pants off and still beat the thinner runners and not be as out of breath than them.  I stretch, lift weights do sit ups and crunches, and I 'm toned, but I'm still heavier looking than most.  I am on a raw diet and do not deter from it either.  How can I get my body shape to catch up with my fitness level and I don't feel like I look like a thin woman caught in a fat suit?  I'm short and muscular, but I'd like to be thin.

• mlines109 Amateur 42 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Jul 26, 2007 6:32 PM (in response to NoviceRunner)
    Re: Avid Runner and strict dieter...

Why do you want to change it sounds like your in awesome shape!! And hey if you can kick any skinny girls *** why do you want to be like them. Also if you do try to get thinner your body might not adjust to a weight loss all that well and then the skinny girls will be kicking your but. That would mean your awesome times will go toshit because your body cant function at that weight level. You need to learn to love yourself and be happy that your fit and an awesome runner!

• RobRunner Rookie 3 posts since