Skip navigation

3877 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 19, 2007 11:52 AM by ltubound RSS
timmaahh Rookie 6 posts since
Aug 29, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 29, 2007 8:45 PM

Ocean Swim

Hey all, I'm relatively new to triathlons and I have an olympic tri coming up in a few weeks and had some questions.  I've done the swimming leg of an olympic tri once before about 3 years ago, but does anyone have suggestions for ocean swims?  Any techniques I should be aware of?  Any tricks for keeping your line?

When I did the swimming portion a few years ago, it was pretty chaotic and I ended up zig-zagging alot, which I think was terrible for my time.  I was second in my heat but I was pretty disappointed overall with my time (31:00).

I've been doing more serious training this year than a few years ago, and I've been able to pace at about 20 minutes for 1500 yards in a 25 yard pool.  Obviously there's a lot of variables, but what type of time variation should I be expecting with an ocean swim?  I'll be a using a wetsuit for the swim portion.  Should I be aiming for 23 - 24 minutes?  Is that respectable considering my pace in the pool?

Thanks in advance.

-timmaahh

• Anthony_All3 Legend 237 posts since
    Aug 8, 2007
    1. Aug 30, 2007 4:49 AM (in response to timmaahh)
    Re: Ocean Swim

Beware of heavy chop, or waves, be very careful breathing as waves can sneak up on you right when you gasp for air, not fun. Bury you head down and try not to take breaths for a few strokes while swimming through waves, thats about all the advice I have for an ocean swim.-----