Skip navigation

2438 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 3, 2007 9:07 AM by phil413 RSS
phil413 Rookie 4 posts since
Sep 26, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 26, 2007 10:33 AM

My First Tri

I'm 42 years old and have always kept active and in shape. Recently I was getting ready for a hiking trip to Jackson Hole/Grand Teton National Park and started cross training. Normally I ride an eliptical so no weight bearing on the knees. This causes me alot of grief when I try to hike and bike, the knees just don't take it. So I started riding my mountain bike on the road to prepare for a ride across the continental divide and I started jogging again to help the knees handle all the downhill hiking.  We rode 30miles to the continental divide and hiked 15 miles gaining over 4000ft in elevation.  The biking caused some temporary distress in my knees but I recovered.  Anyway, I got the wild thought that I might be able to do a Tri since I was in such good shape and started swimming some in my pool at home.  I've already signed up for a "My First Triathalon" in 10 days. I have continued running 3-4 days a week but only two miles each time. I ride the eliptical at least four days a week for 30minutes and I've been biking three days a week @14 miles each time. Yes, a few days I do morning and evening excercies. The swimming could improve, it'll be my downfall. But I plan on working alot on that before my next Tri.   My question is... Am I crazy?  Or is it doable for what I've been training? I starting to worry now, more about knowing where to go and knowing the course. Do they mark it well??  Guess I just need some reassurance from some of you experienced Triatheletes. Thanks, Sandi

• ltubound Community Moderator 93 posts since
    Aug 20, 2007
    1. Sep 26, 2007 12:37 PM (in response to phil413)
    Re: My First Tri

Sandi I am always happy to welcome newcomers to the land of tri-ing. I am sure one you do this first one you will be hooked.